National Underwear Day!

Today is National Underwear Day! So to celebrate all things undies and my personal love of nice underwear I have chosen my favourites from a selection of high street, high end and hand made underwear shops.

TOPSHOP

Topshop have nailed the cutesy underwear market however for me they fall short of ‘grown up’ underwear usually. I cant actually remember the last time I bought underwear from Topshop and after a quick flick through their website I have noticed an improvement in the lace department.

topshop underwear

(From top left across) the High Apex Lace Underwire Bra and Thong £30.00 for the set is a cute lacy combo, which is gorgeous for a special night or just to wear as a pick me up. Unfortunately this bra only goes up to a D cup, something I never understand as a DD cup, why would you exclude a large proportion of women? I now realize why I haven’t bought any underwear from Topshop for a while.

The Lace Up Front Body £18.00 is a popular favourite this summer after a certain Kardashian wore the Givenchy lace up body suit earlier in the year. This more modest interpretation is made from cotton jersey and is available in dress sizes so will stretch to your shape.

The Bird Print Chiffon Triangle Bra and Tanga Knickers £26.00 for the set is Cutesy but not too much and sticks to my colour palette of black, which I find hard to break away from with undies. Its nice to have a mix of normal day to day underwear and sets you can wear for more special occasions and I think this blends the two well.

Worn as outerwear or underwear the Jersey Eyelash Trim Body £20.00 is great for both day and night. Again it is a jersey stretch fabric and sized in dress sizes that will stretch to your body’s shape it is definitely a great buy.

The Floral Lace Bralet £24.00 is a beautiful long-line bralet in a charcoal grey colour and had underwired cups. Again unfortunately Topshop bra sizes are very small and only go up to a D cup so I wont be buying this but it is gorgeous anyway.

Lastly the Lace Triangle Bra and Knickers Price for set £30.00 is a much girlier set than I would usually go for but I love the powder pink colour and the dropped band on the bra. This set is measured in dress sizes so it is possible to buy a larger bra size if needed.

ASOS


So ASOS always have a good selection of underwear, some times there’s too much choice! Here are my top picks of some lovely lingerie that I found on there.

asos lingerie

The first piece I found was the Angelina Strappy Slip £38.00 I love it because its full coverage but still naughty, perfect for a special occasion or worn underneath your date night outfit. The slip is sized in both dress size and cup size which seems like  the fit would be more accurate.

The Suri Strappy Triangle Bra and Strappy Triangle Bra both £18.00 caught my eye with the bold red colour and multi strap detail, which is on trend right now. The sizing is in small/medium/large so it may be more difficult to guess your correct size.

At £20 the Brandy Lace High Leg Body is a bargain for the more adventurous. The classic navy lace is classy and the high cut leg and deep v front is definitely going to grab some attention.

The Ruffle Front Teddy £28.00 is a beautiful loungewear item which is both cute and feminine with a hint of sexy. I love the nude colour but I’m thinking that the deep v front might be bad to actually sleep in.

Lastly Angelina Strappy Underwire Bra £22.00 and Strappy Brazilian Pant £12.00 is a variation of the Angelina Slip and slightly more wearable. I would be more likely to buy this set than the full slip however yet again nice underwear is only available to people who are a D cup and under. What’s up with that?!

AGENT PROVOCATEUR

So my ultimate lingerie label has to be Agent Provocateur. I love their image, which is classy but very sexy and not tacky, but the one thing that gets in the way is the price tag. So these pieces are purely for fantasy, as I really could not justify buying them at this moment in time.

agent lingerie

So you can’t really cover lingerie without corsets, Basques and such. This corset is the ultimate for me its Ordella Corset that costs an amazing £825! So yea, I won’t be buying this any time soon but oh my god its gorgeous! The detailing is laser cut corded satin corset and features a padded cup and traditional front busk and corset lacing on the back.

The next look is the beautiful Elly Bra £125 and Thong £75 which is sheer and very seductive. I am in love with the eyelash lace under band on the bra and waistband on the thong and I think it is the perfect mix of cheeky and sexy.

Again another strappy set with the Whitney Bra £110 and brief £95 as these seem to be in demand at the moment maybe due to the BDSM vibe that Fifty shades of grey started. The harness style bra is what I love the most and I am very tempted to buy it. I tend not to wear briefs, which is why most of my selections are thongs but I really do like the high-rise straps and back criss-cross detail on these too.

Lastly the Robyn Bra £110 and brief £110 follow the same strappy effect and whilst it was the briefs, which I noticed, first because I thought the bra would be a bit un-wearable because of the halter neck style at the front I actually found that this lifts your boobs and brings them together creating a better cleavage.

EMMA STUBBS

 

Finally I found this little gem on Instagram through graduate fashion week a few years ago, she hand makes all garments and used to sell through Etsy. I don’t think she still sells through there but I think she still does take email orders and is active on Instagram. I am so in love with her designs and I plan to buy something maybe for Valentines Day this coming February. It’s nice to see someone take care over every aspect of the design and production phases and I really think she deserves recognition for this beautiful lingerie collection.

Screen Shot 2015-08-06 at 00.11.54 Screen Shot 2015-08-06 at 00.10.01 Screen Shot 2015-08-06 at 00.08.24 Screen Shot 2015-08-06 at 00.07.05

I could go on for ages because I love love love pretty lingerie pieces but for now this completes my round up!

Which ones are your favourites? Let me know xx

2 thoughts on “National Underwear Day!

Leave a Reply

