Disability in Fashion

Just a quick post about something amazing I have just found, I think I might start doing more of these little updates as and when I find something I really like.

So there I was mindlessly scrolling through twitter and I came across this post from WGSN the trend forecasting agency.

(if you don’t want to read the full post here are the main videos from the article)

 

 

 

I am so in awe of these people and I wish there were more designers/ technically capable people out there to help those who need it most. Instead of training people to be engineers (which are also needed) but training them to work in prosthetics and really push the boundaries of what is possible. As an able bodied person I’ll admit that more needs to be done to support people with disabilities and it is something that I take for granted.

I first saw the integration of disabled people in high fashion with the Alexander McQueen’s S/S 1999 show – No 13 with Olympic athlete Aimee Mullins wearing hand carved prosthetic limbs – which people initially thought were just thigh high boots. This was 16 years ago and still we are seeing no change in mainstream fashion towards disability which is really disappointing.

I think the Nike Zoom Solider 8 are a fantastic idea and perfectly mix fashionable shoes with the needs of less abled people, as previously I think they would have been the equivalent of NHS prescription glasses. I also like the idea of the custom prosthetics again adding personality and creativity to your body and I would love to see more of this combining fashionability with purpose use clothing/ footwear/ accessories/ anything. We need to bridge the gap between designing for function and designing for fashion and this is working in that direction.

I hope you agree let me know your thoughts!

One thought on “Disability in Fashion

  1. Superior expenses in the united kingdom push above the fees of merchants thus travel many more money
    advance lenders in your interweb in the You
    It may take the form of the business user’s personal home, a long-term
    connection, cash price of insurance policies, or anything else other than your business possessions for which the financing is acquired, which anyway remains pledged with the standard bank

    Like

Leave a Reply

