Cleanin Out My Closet

Like many other people at this time of year I am going to start a detox, however, this detox is of a different type.

I am detoxing my wardrobe.

I want to clear out most items by the end of the year that are mass made and potentially made under poor working conditions in lesser developed countries.

 

For many years I have been aware of problems faced in developing countries that have been created by the fashion industry and high street retailers. Unfortunately, and as many people do, I have read the articles, been shocked and then in a few weeks gone back to the same cycle, buying products that are produced in these countries. But in the back of my mind there has been this niggling feeling that I should be doing more.

 

It only takes one quick google search to find out which of your beloved high street and online shops have been caught up in scandals over the past few years and which ones are worse then others (See Primark’s ongoing battles) but they all have a part to play in the exploitation of the factory workers who actually make your clothes.

 

Apart from the obvious, there are other reasons for me doing this, mainly because I’ve had enough of poor quality. If a jumper can last 30 years and still look great in a vintage shop why can’t mine last 3 months without pilling or loosing shape? I’m not asking a lot am I?

 

For me enough is enough, its taken 21 years but I have decided not to be a part of this system anymore, so I’m deciding to try another route.

As a fashion student who aspires to become part of this industry, the more I learn the more I question why no one does anything to stop this. But in the same way that the food industry has become disconnected with the source of meat the fashion industry has lost the value of its workers, what must it have come to when the people who make the clothing can not afford to buy it?

 

I plan to change by buying my clothes in three ways:

  1. Vintage shops

Since vintage trends always come and go why not buy the real thing instead of a remade style?

 

  1. Charity/thrift shops

You would be amazed what people give away, top tips are to go to shops in a city or a wealthy area.

 

  1. Resale sites (Depop, eBay)

I follow other bloggers who get gifted things by companies but never get the chance to wear everything they are given so they re sell. This way you are buying second hand clothing that is still on trend and not damaging the environment.

 

  1. Ethical fashion designers

They are out there believe me!

 

I think its going to be a big wake up call for me to cut down the size of my wardrobe to just the core pieces that I actually wear but I’m looking forward to challenging the way I buy and see fashion.

 

If there are any places you recommend let me know!

Leave a Reply

